What we want

What we want

The Voluntary European Year for Everyone program means that participants move to another European country and learn the local language. They participate in a community project of their own choosing or one which has been proposed to them by the local EU agencies. In terms of the implementation of the Voluntary European Year for Everyone, the organisers suggest: utilising existing programs and structures – specifically the European Voluntary Service  and the program Erasmus for all  planned for 2014, while at the same time expanding on these in three regards, with a view to creating a European civil society: (1) The Voluntary European Year should be recognised across Europe and be adequately remunerated. While existing EU programs are mainly aimed at young people and elite trainees, the organisers propose that this one should be open to all age groups and employment sectors, including the unemployed and pensioners. They feel that a European civil society should promote inclusion not exclusion. (2) The projects focus not only on Learning (in) Europe, but also on Doing Europe. The objective is therefore not simply to complete educational certificates, but also to experience what it means to have a European identity, and actively to help create the Europe of tomorrow. Funding could be shared by the EU, national governments (or municipalities) and industry. (3) In contrast with the existing structures and programs, the personal initiative of individual citizens and existing occupational networks should be reinforced in support of the creation of a Europe from the bottom up. That would for example include supplementing the licensing of projects by adding systems for self-regulation for initiatives.


Allianz Kulturstiftung

to Allianz-Kulturstiftung...


First Signatories

Yuri Andrukhovych, author; Attila Ara-Kovács, journalist; Jerzy Baszynski, journalist; Zygmunt Bauman, philosopher; Senta Berger, actress; Daniel Birnbaum, curator and Director of Moderna Museet, Stockholm; Mircea Cartarescu, writer; Patrice Chéreau, theatre and film director; Rudolf Chmel, literary specialist and former Minister for Culture of Slovakia; Jacques Delors, former EU-President; Gábor Demszky, former Mayor of Budapest; Chris Dercon, director of the London Tate Modern; Michael Diekmann, Chairman of the Board of Management, Allianz SE; Lothar Dittmer, member of the Board, Körber-Stiftung; Doris Dörrie, film-maker and writer; Tanja Dückers, author; Peter Eigen, founder of Transparency International; Olafur Eliasson, artist; Péter Esterházy, author; Ádám Fischer, conductor; Iván Fischer, music director of the Budapest Festival Orchestra and Konzerthaus Berlin; Joschka Fischer, former Foreign Minister of the Federal Republic of Germany; Jürgen Flimm, director of German Opera Berlin; Sigrid Gareis, Secretary General of the Akademie der Künste der Welt Cologne; Anthony Giddens, political scientist and sociologist; Ronald Grätz, Secretary General of IfA (Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen) Stuttgart; Alfred Grosser, publicist and political scientist; Ulla Gudmundson, ambassador of Sweden; Jürgen Habermas, philosopher; Miklós Haraszti, writer, former Media Freedom Representative of OSCE; Dunja Hayali, journalist; Uwe-Karsten Heye, publicist and former government spoekesman; Thomas Hirschhorn, artist; Róza Hodosán, sociologist; Michal Hvorecký, writer; Eva Illouz, sociologist; Daniel Innerarity, social scientist and publicist; Wolfgang Ischinger, Chair of The Munich Security Conference; Gábor Iványi, pastor, rector of the John Wesley Theological College; Janez Janša, choreographer; Mary Kaldor, political scientist; Veronica Kaup-Hasler, member of the Universitiy Council of the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna; Navid Kermani, islam scientist and writer; Imre Kertész, Nobel Prize winner for literature; Kasper König; Curator und Director of Museum Ludwig, Cologne; György Konrád, writer and former President of the Academy of Art Berlin; Rem Koolhaas, architect; Michael Krüger, writer and publisher; Adam Krzeminski, writer and journalist; Wolf Lepenies, former director of the Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin; Jutta Limbach, former President of the Federal Constitutional Court of the Federal Republic of Germany and former President of the Goethe-Institute; Constanza Macras, choreographer; Claudio Magris, writer; Bálint Magyar, sociologist, former Hungarian Minister of Education; Sarat Maharaj; art historian and curator; Olga Mannheimer, author; Petros Markaris, writer; Jean-Charles Massera, artist and writer; Imre Mécs, political activist; Robert Menasse, writer; Adam Michnik, journalist and editor in chief Gazeta Wyborcza; Herta Müller, Nobel Prize winner for literature; Anna Nedjalkova, Rector of Free University Varna; Hans Ulrich Obrist, curator and director Serpentine Gallery London; Arend Oetker, entrepreneur; Thomas Ostermeier, director of Schaubühne Berlin; Doris Pack, member of the European Parliament; Ioana Pârvulescu, writer; Petr Pithart, journalist and former Prime Minister of the Czech Republic; Andrei Gabriel Plesu, publicist, former Romanian Minister of Culture; Martin Pollack, publicist and author; Alek Popov, writer; László Rajek, architect; Ilma Rakusa, writer and translator; Ferdinand Richard, president of the Roberto Cimetta Fund;Peter Ruzicka, composer and director of festivals; Joachim Sartorius, author and former director of Berliner Festspiele; Saskia Sassen, social scientist; Hans-Joachim Schellnhuber; director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research; András Schiff, pianist; Volker Schlöndorff, filmmaker; Helmut Schmidt, former Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany; Henning Schulte-Noelle, chairman of the Supervisory Board Allianz SE; Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament; Gesine Schwan, political scientist; Hellmut Th. Seemann, President of Klassik Stiftung Weimar Richard Sennett, sociologist and writer; Martin M. Šimecka, writer and journalist; Konstantinos Simitis, professor and former Prime Minister of the Hellenic Republic; Johan Simons, theatre director of Münchner Kammerspiele; Dirk Snauwaert, Director Wiels Contemporary Art Center, Brussels; Javier Solana, former Secretary General of NATO and European Union's High Representative for Common Foreign and Security Policy; Dieter Spöri, President of Netzwerk Europäische Bewegung Deutschland; Sándor Szilágyi, writer on photography; Michael Thoss, Managing director of Allianz Kulturstiftung; Klaus Töpfer, founding member of the IASS and former UNEP-Executive director; Vaira Vike-Freiberga, former President of Latvia; Haris Vlavianos, poet and philosopher; Klaus Wagenbach, publisher and author; Christina Weiss, former German Minister of Culture; Richard von Weizsäcker, former President of the Federal Republic of Germany; Wim Wenders, filmmaker and photographer; Michel Wieviorka, social scientist; Robert Wilson, artist and theatre director... read more ...